Once you’ve created a course in your Docebo LMS, you can then manage the advanced options of the course to configure specific settings.
To begin, access the Admin menu from the left sidebar (gears icon), then select the Courses item from the E-Learning section. On the main courses page, you will see a list of courses.
Find the course’s row for which you would like to configure the advanced settings, then press the menu icon at the end of the course’s row. From the dropdown menu, select the Advanced Settings item.
On the Settings page for this course, you will see 11 tabs: Details, Catalog Options, E-Commerce, Time Options, Certificates, Course Player, Social & Rating, Retraining, Coaching, Score, Additional Fields.
Let’s go through each tab.
In the details tab, you have the following possibilities:
- Change or assign a category to the course by selecting a category from the Selected category dropdown menu.
- Change the course language (expand the dropdown menu and select the language you want to set).
- Associate a label to the course (expand the dropdown menu and choose a label from the list, click here to learn more about the Labels app).
- Assign a certain number of credits (you can set this option to be shown in reports).
- Manage the navigation policy.
- Allow self-unenrollment.
In the Catalog options tab, you have the following possibilities:
- Decide who can see your course. If you set the course view option to everyone, the course will appear in the external catalog (if you’ve created one). The second option, only for logged in users, allows the course to be shown in the internal catalog. The third option allows access only to the users subscribed to the course (the course will not appear in any catalog).
- Next, decide if there is a max subscription quota to the course, and set the number of allowed entries.
- Decide if overbooking is allowed (for further information, check this article).
- Add demo material, which will be shown in the Docebo catalog. You can add as much demo material as you’d like. Demo material can be uploaded in the following formats: pdf, .ppt, .pptx .doc, .docx, .mp4.
- Establish if subscriptions are closed, open, or available during a precise time period.
- Set the enrollment policy. Who can enroll users to the course? Only the administrator, Self Registration with Admin Approval, or Self Registration.
To learn more about catalogs, click here.
In this tab, you can decide if you would like to sell the course using Docebo’s E-Commerce app, then establish the price. This tool is available only if you activate the E-Commerce APP. You can also sell your courses via Shopify.
In this tab, you can decide if the course will be visible only during a specific period, and set up the dates on the calendar.
In the Soft Deadline section, you can enable custom deadline settings and allow users to enter an E-learning course even after the expired date of validity for the course.
In the Advanced Settings area of the platform, you can manage the default settings of the ‘soft deadline’ that apply to all courses.
You can also allow users to access a course even if the enrollment validity or course end-date have expired. The following message will be displayed:
In the Days of Validity section, you can set the option to grant users access the course for a pre-defined number of days after their first access. You can also flag the option to update all enrollment expiration dates when users have began a course.
From then on, you will be able to view the number of days each single student has left by accessing the Enrollment section- Select ‘Manage Course’ from the sidebar, and choose Enrollments.
In this tab, you can associate a certificate to the course. You must first create a certificate. Then select a certificate from the dropdown menu in this tab. You can preview it, if desired.
In this tab, you can manage the course player, which dictates how your training materials are presented (visually) to your learners.
In the first section, you can enable custom autoplay for the course. Once this is enable, you also have the option to directly play the first item or resume an item-in-progress when users enter the course.
If you flag this option, the first learning object that has not been completed or started will begin automatically as soon as the user accesses the course. The user won’t need to go to the course page and select the object. This option makes the sequential navigation policy between the training materials more accessible for the users.
In the next section, you can flag the option to enable custom direct autoplay for the course. If you do so, you can then decide which view you would like your learners to see when viewing learning objects in this course.
Click here to learn more about training material views.
Social Sharing and Rating
In this tab, you can enable users to share the courses on social media. In the first section, begin by flagging the option to enable custom settings for the course. Then, you can decide to flag one of the following options:
- Disable courses social sharing.
- Users can share a course on social networks at any time if they are enrolled in that course.
- Users can share a course on social networks, but only if they have completed said course.
You can also allow users to share their scores on social media, if desired. Finally, flag on which social media users can share the course.
In this tab, you can select the certification to associate with this course. Student will obtain the certification once this course is completed. Click here to learn more.
For this tab, you need to begin in the first section by enabling coaching for this course. This feature allows you to create coaching sessions inside an E-Learning course. Clickhere to learn more about Coaching sessions before you enable this option and configure the corresponding settings in this tab.
This tab allows you to manage the assignment of the final score for your users. Here, you can flag the option to enable or disable score calculation for this course. In the first section (Initial Course Score Calculation), you can choose to disable initial course score evaluation for this course, or choose if the course’s score will be calculated from a single learning object.
The score, depending on which option you flag, can be:
- Generated from a specific learning object in the course.
- The sum of all scores of the user in this course.
- The average of all of the scores of the user in this course.
Remember: By changing the score calculation formula, all existing scores will be recalculated. Course scores are automatically generated if a test is the last learning object in the course. This is the default behavior.
If you flag the option for the score to be calculated by a specific learning object, you then need to select which learning object from the dropdown menu that will appear.
Please note if you flag the option for the final score calculation to be the sum of scores in the course, this mode works accurately only if all learning objects inside the course use the same units: points or percentage.
In this tab, you can use the corresponding text boxes to assign prerequisites, requirements, and Instructors to the course. Once you’ve typed them into the text boxes, pressSave Changes.
You have now configured the advanced settings for this course.